The use of cookies allows us to optimise your experience on this site. We use cookies for statistical and quality assurance purposes. By continuing to browse our site, you are agreeing to our use of cookies.

For further information, click on the following link


Tax Office for Fees, Transaction Taxes and Gambling

Since 1 January 2011, the Tax Office for Fees, Transaction Taxes and Gambling, abbreviated FAGVG (Finanzamt für Gebühren, Verkehrsteuern und Glücksspiel), has been the first and so far only tax authority to be federally organised.

Unlike the tax offices with general tasks, the FAGVG is not assigned to any particular region and thus does not report to any regional administration either, but rather directly to the Federal Ministry of Finance.
It is headquartered in Vienna and has additional locations in Feldkirch, Innsbruck, Salzburg, Linz, Graz and Klagenfurt.

The tasks of the FAGVG include the nationwide collection of stamp and legal fees, capital taxes, land transfer tax, insurance tax, fire protection tax, casino tax, franchise tax, gambling levies and air traffic tax; also the supervision of the concessionaires and the unitary valuation of landed property for the area of responsibility of the general tax offices headquartered in Vienna. The FAGVG currently has about 230 employees.